New Marine Bio Class

amitwaru

Hi all,

I am a science teacher at Springbrook High in Silverspring and I have been given the go ahead to start a Marine Biology class here next year! I am super excited because I already have two classes filled! I would love to get a tank started in the classroom if anyone has something they would like to give away let me know!

Amy

Welcome to WAMAS! What size tank were you thinking about? Do you have experience with saltwater tanks? Do you have any ideas of what you would like to feature in the tank?

Hi there,

Thanks for the welcome! Not really sure what would be best for the classroom. I have had tanks before but not salt water. Any suggestions that would be fairly easy to maintain?

I would start off simple then with something around 55g and do a fish only system or add very basic soft corals. There are a few members here that have tanks in their schools, hopefully they will jump on this thread when they see it.

I'm not close to you but I can donate rock if we can find a way to get it to you. I also have a 4ft light depending on the tank you find.

When I took Marine Biology at NVCC, I set up a temperate tank with all of the species we caught while doing some trawling and plankton sampling at Wallops Island. There are plenty of temperate corals and inverts to be had from there. I'd suggest doing this route first since it's a very simple setup.

(edited)

Hi all,

I am a science teacher at Springbrook High in Silverspring and I have been given the go ahead to start a Marine Biology class here next year! I am super excited because I already have two classes filled! I would love to get a tank started in the classroom if anyone has something they would like to give away let me know!

Amy

Hey Amy! Glad to see you've found the place! By way of short introduction for everyone else, I completed my student teaching experience in Amy's class.