My Closed Loop

bbyatv

(edited)

I have been running the closed loop shown below for about two months. It took some tweaks to get rid of the micro bubbles, but is now running very nice.

Dsc02128.jpg

I have placed 2 Hydor rotating deflectors on two of the returns to help create some random flow patterns.

Dsc02136.jpg

With the lights in place.

Dsc02138.jpg

With the lights in place from the front. You can not see the returns in the tank from this perspective.

(Notice no Acros due to the crash http://www.wamas.org/forums/index.php?act=...=4&t=15559)

Dsc02140.jpg

A Mag 12 behind the tank drives the loop.

Dsc02141.jpg

Any thoughts or ideas on making it better let me know.

Bruce

Edited by bbyatv

love it - no powerheads!

Just zoomed in - using a ball valve for the priming tower is pure genius.

I fought micro bubbles in my CL for a long time, and finally traced it to my own priming tower, which was just a male threaded end and a cap. I must have used half a roll of teflon tape and have it so tight that I know I'll never get it off, and so I have put off cleaning the pump and system as a result.

jp

JP,

Thanks for the comments.

The ball valve works great. I love not having any power heads in the tank. One because it looks nicer, and two becuase I am not adding any heat to the water that I then would have to cool with the chiller. Over all the tank is cleaner looking, has more adjutable flow patterns (8 return jets), and I am now adding a lot less heat to the system. The mag 12 is outside the water.

Bruce

love it - no powerheads!

Just zoomed in - using a ball valve for the priming tower is pure genius.

I fought micro bubbles in my CL for a long time, and finally traced it to my own priming tower, which was just a male threaded end and a cap. I must have used half a roll of teflon tape and have it so tight that I know I'll never get it off, and so I have put off cleaning the pump and system as a result.

jp