WAMAS Tank of the Month

Almon Packard (Almon)

Congratulations Almon, on being selected tank of the month.

About the Tank

Corals
  • Purple Gorgonian
  • Umbrella Leather
  • Various Zoanthids
  • Various Montipora Capricorns
  • Heliopora (Blue Ridge)
  • Hydnophora
  • Red Pocillopora
  • Pink Pocillopora
  • Green Millepora
  • Blue Millepora
  • Cephastria Decadia
  • Teal Sarmentosa
  • Green Tort
  • Blue Tort
  • Purple Bonzai

Experience in hobby

How long have you been doing this?

I started a 55g freshwater tank in 1986. I graduated to a 55g saltwater in 1990 and began my first reef (220g) in 1999.

Who got you into the hobby?

A friend was moving in 1986 and didn't have room for his 55g. He asked me to "Hold on" to it until he had time for it again. That's when I started my first freshwater tank.

Who in the hobby most influences you?

In the past two years, it's been the WAMAS membership. Before that, I was on my own…

Tank setup and equipment

This is a Mixed Reef, 220 gallons (72"x24"x30") All-Glass aquarium, not drilled. This is my first reef tank started in 1999 and it's now almost 10 years old without any major incidents. I've had the Blue Tang since 1995; the large Clarkii Clownfish since 1997; and I've had the Yellow Eye Kole Tang since the start of the reef in 1999.

• 220g tank w/sump
• Auto top-off GSA Kalk Stirrer
• EuroReef RS-180 Skimmer
• Little Giant return pump w/Batter Backup UPS
• A few additional power heads
• Blueline Ballasts w/3 x 250w XM 10K metal halides
• Icap 430 Ballast w/2 x 96w 460nm Actinic power compacts
• 3 Stage RO/DI Filter