WAMAS Tank of the Month

Pierce S. (Teamschreiba)

Congratulations Pierce, on being selected tank of the month.

Introduction

First I'd like to thank the TOTM committee and WAMAS members for giving me the opportunity to showcase my tank, it is truly an honor! I learned so much and met a lot of great people in the short time that I've been a WAMAS member.

I've been reefing for three years now but took many vacations to tropical places as a kid. Seeing all the tropical fish and corals in Puerto Rico, Aruba, and the Buck Island Reef National Monument in St. Croix, USVI had always given me the urge to get into the hobby but I didn't have the time and resources until recently. Now it is a hobby I will surely have for life!

Equipment
  • Display: 8.6 Gallon ADA 60-f (24" x 12" x 7")
  • Sump: 24" x 14" x 14" Custom Advanced Acrylics
  • Skimmer: Reef Octopus NWB-110
  • Lighting: Giesemann Infiniti 24" 150W MH (Phoenix 14k) + 4 T5 (4 ATI Blue Plus)
  • Controller: Apex Aquacontroller
  • Return Pump: Eheim 1048 Pump
  • Circulation: Ecotech Marine Vortech MP10ES
  • Reactors: TLF Phosban Reactor with ROX Carbon
  • ATO: Tunze Osmolator
  • Temperature Control: Hydor Theo 100W
  • Dosing: Bubble Magnus BM-T01 Triple Doser
  • Overflow: MAME Nano Overflow

Current Tank

This tank began as an upgrade to my previous tank just when a few people were getting into the shallow and ADA style tanks. Fascinated with the clean look of the ADA aquariums as well as the idea of a shallow but wide tank led me to the 60-F. I wanted to keep the equipment as minimal as possible but also have a successful, growing reef tank.