WAMAS Tank of the Month

I’d like to thank the WAMAS TOTM committee for this unexpected nomination and opportunity to share my continuing journey into the reefing hobby. It’s a real privilege. I got into the reef hobby back in 2012 after walking into a Petco with my son and thought it would be fun for us to set up a 29G planted tank. A few days later I mentioned this to one of my co-workers at NIH and his exact words to me were; “Dude, why would you get a fresh water tank when you work with fish every day?” (I’m a research scientist and was using zebrafish (danio rerio) as a genetic model to look at leukemia and blood development). So I decided to get a saltwater tank. I bought a 45G tank from Petco and had several 5-gallon jugs of salt water at home to get started. I even had an electrician install an outlet in the living room where I wanted the tank to be. Then my wife suggested that I should put the tank in the basement, where my office is. Excited by this option, I returned the 45G tank and bought a 75G tank from Craigslist. This tank also came with a stand and canopy. After doing more research, I discovered that the footprint of the 75G and 90G tanks were the same, meaning I could put a 90G tank on the same stand. So I did my 3rd upgrade, all before adding one drop of water to the tank. I kept this 90G tank for 2.5 years and was very successful in keeping LPS and softies. The tank was doing really well. My euphyllias grew like weeds and my red bubble tip anemones would split if I looked at them too hard. At this time I realized that I was running out of real estate and wanted to upgrade my tank. This time I decided to plan much better and take my time with the upgrade. Given the wall space I had, I went with a 180G tank as this was the largest ready-made tank I could purchase. After doing lots of research and talking to my LFS (thank you Vince @ Quantum reefs), I decided to proceed with the new build and with the help from folks at ERC, the new 180G tank was co