WAMAS Tank of the Month

First of all, thank you WAMAS for this opportunity. It is truly humbling and an honor to share my little slice of the ocean. I hope some day my system continues to mature and look as good as many other tanks in this group! 

My name is Matt Hardesty and I have been keeping saltwater tanks for a little over 4 years. I've kept freshwater tanks for a while before that but nothing complicated. I started with a 29g acrylic tank in my parents basement when I went to college and started working. I relied on the all knowing Google and soon I had ordered a pair of black and white clownfish and a toadstool leather from live aquaria. I kept those for a few years and wasn't really looking to do anything crazy since I knew I would be moving. After that tank, I upgraded to a JBJ 45 while living in an apartment. It was after that tank being up for a little while, a friend told me about WAMAS. I joined WAMAS and began to add to my system. That system ended with a good bit of the livestock I have in my system now. I bought a house back in May and I had the space so I figured why not just get a bigger tank. I setup this tank in the first week of June in the basement and moved over my livestock from the 45 the following week. I found a lot of enjoyment meeting reefers in the area and getting corals that are aqua-cultured. So I set out to do as much of my tank as possible with things from other members. I believe all of my corals except my first toadstool leather have been from WAMAS members. All of the live rock is as well. So thank you to some past and present WAMAS members, your success has contributed to my success. 

Currently my display is a Waterbox 230.6. Its a 180g display with a 44g sump.

2 Ecotech Quiet Drive MP-40s. I run the Reef crest mode. Ramps from like 30% to full power every so many seconds. My return pump is running around 1500 gph. There are two nozzles so figure 450-500 gph at the top(guestimate).